Spring cleansing … the brain!

13 Apr

Spring has played “hard to get” with me this year, so I decided to catch up by doing some spring cleansing in my brain, and I am certainly not talking about just some clearing clutter, rearranging, reorganizing or bringing the new stuff out!!! I am talking about taking extreme measures….

I was looking in the mirror this morning…. no no no I did not get scared, just that I was rather hoping I’d look like this:
with make up morning
Actually what I’ve seen was more like this:
no makeup morning

And I was thinking, yes because thinking is one of my favourites activities, comes very close after a lot of other favourite activities like resting, sleeping, drinking, resting, eating sleeping, resting again, so yes I was thinking today how much we do for our appearance!

I mean… come on… in between those two pictures must have come lots of hmmm … let’s see, moisturizer, serum, eye cream, illuminator, foundation, concealer, powder, blush, bronzer, eyeshadow, eyeliner, mascara, lipstick, lipgloss, visits to hairdresser, cosmetician, doctors, should I go on?

No, because the question here is do we do as much for our brain? And for sure our brain needs to be soaked in the right …moisturizers too!!!

And then keeping on looking in the mirror, for some strange reason, it hit me, the truth came to the surface and I realized I was standing in front of a killer!!!

I KNEW what I have to do … clearly, clearer than how clear is for a hungry lion what to do when encounters a bunch of dears!!
lion singing whitney houston

You know this little blue alien that has a home in the middle left part of my brain , I am going to kill him, yes like a heartless little bitch I am going to stab him in his little blue eyes and make him shut up!!!
No more:

Missy, she looked at you like you are worth nothing, she must be a …bitch!
– You forgot to buy milk today. You never do things right!
– You will not be able to do this, so don’t start it!!
– He probably thinks you’re an idiot!
– Put the tv on, you must keep up with what is happening around the world , you numpty!

NO, NO, NO more abusing my brain and manipulate me, spring is here so I’d rather listen to the birds singing, I’d rather listen to the wind blowing through the cherry blossom trees, I’d rather listen to the water tinkling down the stream, I’d even rather listening to myself singing in the shower!

Wouldn’t you do the same ….. not that I want to imply you are all killers, not at all!

Welcome back SPRING, it’s good to have you here!

maxine_spring_cleaning

67 Responses to “Spring cleansing … the brain!”

  1. bikerchick57 April 13, 2013 at 12:35 pm #

    Summer, fall and winter are also good season for brain cleansing. Keep the negative self-thoughts out always. Enjoy your spring!

    • H! April 13, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

      Totally agree!🙂

  2. juliepetroski April 13, 2013 at 1:19 pm #

    You are beautiful and don’t let that blue alien tell you otherwise. You are enough!

    • H! April 13, 2013 at 7:06 pm #

      He’s dead!!!🙂 Thank you!

  3. rbdavis5 April 13, 2013 at 2:13 pm #

    I’ll try to kill my little bule alien with beer! a double good move, little blue alien drown and brain mosturized! looking for a down side.

    • EagleAye April 13, 2013 at 2:26 pm #

      If you do it right, there isn’t one.

    • H! April 13, 2013 at 7:08 pm #

      Ahhh ha ha ha … perfect method indeed, you should patent it before too late! No down side, maybe the beer belly!:)

      • rbdavis5 April 13, 2013 at 7:19 pm #

        It’s not a beer belly its an excess calorie storage device

        Technically There’s almost as many burgers as beer in it.

  4. EagleAye April 13, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

    I’m still looking for that little blue alien myself. I’ve been traipsing around in my head too, saying, “I’m gonna git you sucka!” I didn’t realize he was blue until you revealed the truth. I think he reproduces in there until a colony forms. So it’s hard to get rid of them. I hope your hunt goes well. I recommend long hikes, meditation in a natural setting, and aroma therapy.

    • H! April 13, 2013 at 7:04 pm #

      So you’re telling me there’s more???? Ha ha ha… you made me laugh… I’ll take your advice! Thank you!🙂

  5. jonathanhilton April 13, 2013 at 2:52 pm #

    Good job. We all have those thoughts, learning to discard what they say is, I believe, the one significant step toward finding your unique self and moving toward your potential. Here’s to spring cleaning. I hope you never listen to those limiting thoughts again.🙂

    • H! April 13, 2013 at 7:08 pm #

      Thank you, it is an ongoing process indeed!🙂

  6. nickjriches April 13, 2013 at 3:16 pm #

    So I hunt down the little blue alien, and pack him off to his other world, but do I really need to do all that to my face? Can’t I just shave once in a while?

    • H! April 13, 2013 at 7:09 pm #

      Ok ok leave your face alone then, don’t forget your brain though!🙂

  7. ladyflowersbysusan April 13, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

    Great Post. Of all the things I ever lost I miss my mind the most.

  8. Anonymous April 13, 2013 at 3:51 pm #

    Awesome post! Love how you just put your entire self out there, raw, for the whole world to see!

    • H! April 13, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

      Thank you!🙂

  9. priya24y April 13, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    This is a great witty post and this is exactly what m going through doing my own mind spring cleaning and i wrote a post about it too. I wish you all the luck darling and you look beautiful.

    • H! April 13, 2013 at 7:05 pm #

      Thank you! I wish you all the best to you too!🙂

  10. Suzicue April 13, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

    I was told to hug my little blue alien and still show him who is boss. Tough line to walk. Supposedly he gets nicer over time.

    • H! April 13, 2013 at 7:10 pm #

      Suzie, the only time when a woman can change a man is when he is a baby!!!🙂

      • Suzicue April 14, 2013 at 3:19 am #

        LOL that is so true!😀

  11. victorianeedstoeat April 13, 2013 at 8:51 pm #

    I’ve never really thought of it that way before how much I thrash myself because of the little blue alien. It’s going to be hard to unlearn/shut it up. A good challenge though for a peaceful mind🙂.

  12. Cubical Panic April 13, 2013 at 11:24 pm #

    The little blue alien has been in my head for so long, he’s nearly part of the furniture!🙂 Having said that, I have been slowly but surely prying him out and evicting him one piece at a time😉 I like your posts, smart and funny! Oh, and you’re so right about what we do to our poor faces! hehehe…

    • H! April 14, 2013 at 7:27 am #

      🙂 Thank you!

  13. fatguy2triguy April 14, 2013 at 12:37 am #

    A great book for cleansing the brain is, “What to say when you talk to yourself”. A fantastic read.

    • H! April 14, 2013 at 7:27 am #

      Thanks I’ll check it out!:)

  14. LisaAR April 14, 2013 at 4:55 am #

    Love the idea of cleaning out the negative mental crap. Vacuum or whisk broom?

  15. laurengracewatson April 14, 2013 at 5:12 am #

    I am so glad I read this, today I was having ‘one of those days’ that not even chocolate back fixes but after reading this it has made me re arrange my thoughts.🙂

    • H! April 14, 2013 at 7:26 am #

      I am glad you read it as well😉 Thank you!

  16. Sue Vincent April 14, 2013 at 7:57 am #

    Great article and the lion pic gave me the first outright laugh of the morning🙂

    • H! April 14, 2013 at 10:34 am #

      Thank you! Nice to hear that arghhhhhh!🙂

  17. supreetsblog April 14, 2013 at 9:41 am #

    Witty, humorous and makes one think !

    • H! April 14, 2013 at 10:33 am #

      Thank you!:)

  18. BaluL (@Balul9) April 14, 2013 at 10:29 am #

    Hi H!,
    I’m from India we have a specific festival called UGADHI welcome the spring with natural beauty and it also clashes with new year of telugu and Kannada. Great to read such experience through ur blog. Special of cleansing mind through this festival is tasting 6 tastes mixed Pachadi(Chutney)…You’r good! in explaining in ur way

    • H! April 14, 2013 at 10:33 am #

      Hi really nice of you to tell me this, sounds like a very nice experience this Ughadi festival,we all need it sometimes! Thank you!:)

  19. Michael J. Cahill April 14, 2013 at 10:33 am #

    Moisturizers, mascara, goblins and gray cells. Hell of a mixture but they certainly make up one fine posting. So happy to find others who think sideways. Great post. Mucho fun.

    Also, thank you kindly for stopping by my “Levity” post. So happy you liked it. Cheers and tally ho!

    • H! April 14, 2013 at 10:36 am #

      Ha ha ha… mucho thank you!🙂 Tally ho to you too :)))

  20. kiranchaturvedi April 14, 2013 at 2:46 pm #

    Just Tweeted the link to this, but its coming from Helen Len3, thats you?

    • H! April 14, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

      Yes that is me, thank you very much for that, I am not so good with Twitter,wanted to thank you there as well!🙂

  21. emskiruns April 14, 2013 at 2:48 pm #

    I love this it’s so true, thinking of how often we beat ourselves up over stupid things. I am also trying to be more positive about things especially about myself!
    A great read – Kill that little blue alien – I would suggest a good stomp with a high heeled shoe!

    Also thanks for stopping by my blog glad you liked my park run post – it was terrifying but fab at the same time.

    x

    • H! April 14, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

      Thanks for your suggestion🙂 I like reading everything about running!:)

  22. bezzymates April 14, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

    Really good things to think about in this post. If we don’t kill little blue alien, he will kill us first.

  23. takelight April 15, 2013 at 5:48 am #

    External is engaging. So is internal, but not as much. The amount of attention that goes to the external, is way more than to the internal self, as you rightly pointed out too.

    Blue alien or aliens, keep coming depending on the frequency you vibe on. This is my personal experience hence opinion. It may not be necessarily common.

  24. VreauUltimulLoc April 15, 2013 at 7:45 am #

    E suficient sa lasi vantul sa iti treaca prin par si sa iti ia cu el toate grijile si tensiunea acumulata in ultima perioada mohorata.🙂

    • H! April 16, 2013 at 6:40 pm #

      Asa e ai dreptate!!!:)

  25. eugenie verney April 15, 2013 at 10:30 am #

    My own little blue alien’s been a bit vocal as well just lately – and the return of spring (very late return in the UK this year!) is helping hugely to dislodge and disempower him (definitely a “him”!) Good thoughts for a Monday morning…🙂

  26. Cosmo April 15, 2013 at 7:13 pm #

    Damn! Just what I needed today. Thank you!

  27. redjim99 April 15, 2013 at 10:25 pm #

    This winter seems to have been a long one for everyone. Cleansing, new broom and all that, have fun with it. Great post, made me smile.

    Jim

  28. mtthwpytnsmth April 16, 2013 at 2:15 am #

    Great advice. I try not to look at myself in the mirror too early, because I want a chance at having a good day.😉

    Pretty face, though! You have nothing to worry about.

  29. Jonathan Caswell April 17, 2013 at 3:59 am #

    Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    SPRING CLEANING: DON’T LET YOUR CAT SING!!!!

  30. lehorse April 17, 2013 at 10:12 am #

    So nice to have the sunshine back, had my first run in shorts and short sleeves this year and its bloody mid April

    • H! April 18, 2013 at 6:36 am #

      Yes it is very nice indeed! Finally!:)

  31. onthickice April 19, 2013 at 12:35 am #

    I need a more thorough cleansing, too much clutter. Not just negative stuff, but in-progress stuff that isn’t progressing. Like all the horses I led to water who don’t understand what water is and they just stare at their reflections wondering if they really do ripple in the wind like that. Grr.

  32. delightedsouls April 19, 2013 at 11:05 am #

    Just this post I read, and I am already connected to your thoughts. I am sure, there will be a lot to look forward to. Not to mention, your style has made you one of my favourite bloggers. God Bless!

    • H! April 21, 2013 at 3:45 pm #

      Thank you so much… God bless!🙂

  33. amb April 19, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

    That cartoon cracked me up. Thanks for sharing!

  34. funnyphilosopher April 20, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

    This is inadvisable, but I’m currently drying out from a (short) drinking binge, and recovering from a (short) bout of pneumonia, and I feel great, vibrant, creative, etc. It’s like when ball players practice their swing w/ that weight on their bats, then swing better when they remove it. It’s days like this where a buddy will ask if I want to go get some drinks, and I astound them by saying, “No, I’d rather go be productive [by writing/editing].”

  35. 5thshadeofmist April 21, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

    This post struck a resonant cord with me.
    I don’t watch television, read the newspapers or listen to the radio.
    I like to hear the birds singing, winter wind ruffling my hair, summer sunshine on my face and the change of the seasons.
    Fully dig it.
    Keep on rocking, because this post is an inspiration.

    • H! April 21, 2013 at 6:37 pm #

      Thank you!🙂

  36. blackadam88 April 21, 2013 at 5:11 pm #

    Nice work. Keep it up.

    • H! April 21, 2013 at 6:41 pm #

      Thank you!🙂

  37. meaganmck April 28, 2013 at 11:32 pm #

    You are beautiful! Love this post.

    • H! April 29, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

      Awwww thank you !:)

  38. snowgood June 17, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

    Like it. Funny thing is I probably care too much about my mind, and not enough about appearance.

  39. lbellinlondon June 21, 2013 at 3:51 pm #

    This is so true. I waste sooo much time and energy stressing about appearance/how I am perceived and it’s just ridiculous but also so hard to stop. Every now and then I have a mini epiphany where I manage it, but then the thoughts come back. Think we all need a spring clean!

Leave a Reply

Sykose Extreme Sports News

Sykose.Live.Extreme

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Wildersoul Colouring Book

Art Therapy Self Help Education Resource | Free Online Colouring Book Blog

Traveling Disturbance

I don't always blog, but when I do, it's about running, traveling, maybe figure skating and gymnastics

Once Was Now

underground tech house techno music events features interviews

Oh God, My Wife Is German.

The Misadventures of an American Expat and His Wife in Germany

Strong-Fit-Beautiful

Health and fitness made simple

The New Bullying Prevention

Ethics, Equality and Equal Rights

iiThinks

Poetry of the Soul

